Salsa in Saiki with Sarah!

After leaving Arizona, I immediately missed salsa dancing.  Around August I was completely fed up with the lack of salsa dancing in Saiki.  So, with the help of my lovely friend Alexa, we were able to set up a Salsa Party at an amazing jazz bar called BirdLand owned by a very nice man named Kimura-san.  Kimura-san is so nice, in fact, that he allowed me to have no cover charge for the entire night!  I provided the music, lessons (ahaha) and snacks for the night, and he made sure the bar was well stocked beforehand.  

I picked up about 12 people at the train station before the event started, and we all went back to my place.  It is customary to take your shoes off when you enter someone’s home, and I don’t know this for sure, but I bet that they have a saying along the lines of, “Many shoes in the doorway means a happy home!” because it SURE DOES.  I had 10 people stay at my place that night… we were all so cozy sleeping on a futon-covered floor.  We were also so loud and hyper that I thought I was going to be evicted!  

Although we were a little bit nervous that the night might not be so successful, it was a great time!  I have to mention, though, that the ratio was in favor of the men that night… we had almost 40 girls and 5 boys!  Needless to say, they all got a workout.  Here are some great pictures of a great night!  Thanks to all who came!

An even bigger thank you to Alexa and Kimura-san (the very tall man in the black shirt) for helping the Salsa in Saiki with Sarah cause!

Leave a Reply

